Can’t copy folder containing images using Windows Explorer

I’m trying to organize my music folder. I want to put my fwd.dj mixes, currently in the root of %UserProfile%\Music, in the new Mixes folder I just created.

To create a richer experience when browsing my own music collection, I also downloaded the profile pages of each of the mixes, with tracklists, images of the artists, and general liner notes gubbins.

Unfortunately, the images stop me copying the folder, apparently because explorer has locked thumbs.db. This issue is well-reported in a Microsoft Technet thread.

After I applied Noel Carboni’s workaround to disable thumbnail caching and restarted explorer, I was able to move the folder without a problem. For reference, here’s the steps I followed:

·    Click the Start orb

·    Enter gpedit.msc in the search box and hit Enter.

·    Expand User Configuration – Administrative Templates – Windows Components.

·    Click on Windows Explorer.

·    Right-click the entry “Turn off the caching of thumbnails in hidden thumbs.db files” and choose Edit.

·    Enable the setting.

PS fwd.dj seems to be down today. The front page shows the IIS 7 default welcome page, and a request for any other page receives IIS’s default 404 response. I hope that doesn’t last long!

Leave a Reply

